## Hays County Emergency Services District No. 9 (HCESD No. 9) At Kyle Fire Station No. 1 210 W. Moore St., Kyle, TX 78640 May 9, 2019 – 6:30p.m.

## **Regular Meeting Minutes**

- **1.** Call to order, establish quorum:
  - ⇒ The Regular Meeting was called to order at 6:31 p.m. and a quorum was established with Commissioners Roger Boyd, Diane Hervol, Carla Sisk, and Bruce Schneider in attendance.
  - ⇒ Commissioner Chris Baker was absent for the entirety of the meeting.
- 2. Public Comment: In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners:
  - ⇒ No public comments were offered at this time.
- 3. Discuss and consider action on minutes of the April 10<sup>th</sup>, 2019 meeting;
  - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to approve the minutes as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- **4.** Discuss and consider action on treasurer's report, including the payment of invoices, reimbursements, and status of District's deposit of funds;
  - ⇒ Motion by Bruce Schneider, seconded by Diane Hervol, to approve the treasurer's report as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
  - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to approve the payment of invoices as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- 5. Approval of District's financial audit and filing audit with county (or request 30-day extension if needed);
  - ⇒ Presentation by Jim Jansen, of Jasen & Gregorczyk, CPAs, of District's financial audit of the 2018 fiscal year.
  - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to approve the District's financial audit as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- **6.** Receive monthly report from Chief Smith with SMHCEMS regarding emergency operation, response times, call volume, training, management activities, and membership;
  - ⇒ Presentation by Chief Smith, Matthew Weinberg, and Jolind Tays.
  - ⇒ Discussion held with no action taken.
- **7.** Discuss and consider action on payment plan for reimbursement to SMHCEMS for payment of City of Kyle invoice;
  - ⇒ Motion by Carla Sisk, seconded by Bruce Schneider, to pay SMHCEMS \$25,000 for the next 2 months, followed by the remaining balance on the 3<sup>rd</sup> month.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (4-0).
- **8.** Discuss and consider action on possible Uhland Fire and EMS Station with presentation from Uhland representative:
  - ⇒ No discussion held nor action taken.

## At this time Commissioner Sisk left the meeting at 7:33 p.m.

- **9.** Discuss and consider action on annexation of territory not included in the district, including election costs and calendar of election deadlines for 2019;
  - ⇒ Motion by Diane Hervol, seconded by Bruce Schneider to approve the calendar of election deadlines as submitted.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (3-0).
  - ⇒ Motion by Bruce Schneider, seconded by Diane Hervol, to receive the petition and signatures from Chief Smith.
  - $\Rightarrow$  Motion passed (3-0).

## Commissioner Sisk returned to the meeting at 7:35 p.m.

- **10.** Discussion and possible action on proposed meeting with HCESD No. 5 and Kinder Morgan regarding the natural gas pipeline in HCESD No. 5 and 9 district boundaries;
  - ⇒ No discussion held, nor action taken.
- 11. Discuss time, place, date, and agenda items for next meeting; and
  - ⇒ The next Regular Meeting of HCESD No. 9 will take place on Wednesday, June 12, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. at the San Marcos Hays County EMS Station located at 2061 Clovis R. Barker Rd., San Marcos, TX 78666.
- **12.** Adjourn.
  - ⇒ Meeting adjourned at 7:38 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Hervol Secretary HCESD No. 9